So a great weekend of eating clean! Weekends are my worst enemy. Nothing like a mixed drink to unwind or a fattening appetizer with the hubby on Friday night. Sunday I made a shepherd’s pie and replaced the mashed potatoes with mashed cauliflower. That huge dish will last a few days for sure. I also made paleo sandwich bread, which I love to make. This the best bread I have had to date and I like the fact that it’s not store bought so I know exactly what goes in it. I also made a Paleo carrot cake for dessert. I forgot to add the applesauce to it, so I can’t wait to try it again. It still tasted good, but I am thinking it will be a little more moist with the applesauce.

I lost another pound so I am down to 150. I haven’t seen the 140’s in quite some time. I will start exercising soon, so if you have anything great to offer for exercise feel free to comment. Just wanted to share a few pics of my Sunday cooking and link to some recipes.

For the Paleo Shepherd’s Pie, I just reviewed other recipes and came up with my own. I used ground turkey instead of beef (husband is allergic to beef), carrots, green beans, peas, and topped off with the mashed cauliflower. For my seasoning I used sofrito, which is a base used in Puerto Rican dishes. I will include a link to an excellent recipe below.

Shepherd's Pie

You can find the recipe for the Paleo sandwich bread here at The Guilty Kitchen:

http://guiltykitchen.com/2013/04/15/paleo-sandwich-bread/

Made with Justin's Almond Butter
Made with Justin’s Almond Butter

As I said, my carrot cake was not perfect, but it was still a nice dessert. I will do better next time for sure. This is the recipe I used at Lexi’s Clean Kitchen: http://lexiscleankitchen.com/2014/04/15/carrot-cake-loaf/

Carrot Cake
Paleo Carrot Cake

One thing I love, love, love about sofrito is it is the perfect base for your main dish. I don’t have a picture to share, but I will get one on my next dish that I use it. Best thing is it’s all natural ingredients and it’s packed full of flavor! It makes a large batch and then I bag 1/2 cup in sandwich bags and put in the freezer for future use. El Boricua is a site that contains authentic Puerto Rican dishes and this is where I found my favorite. http://elboricua.com/sofrito.html  – For sure, you won’t be disappointed in the flavors this base brings to your dishes.